RES Council members recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours 2020

13 Oct 2020

The Queen’s Birthday Honours recognise the outstanding achievements of people across the United Kingdom. We are delighted that three RES Council members have been recognised in the 2020 list: Amelia Fletcher (UEA) has been awarded a CBE, whilst Imran Rasul (UCL) and Jackie Wahba (Southampton) have each been awarded an OBE. We congratulate Amelia, Imran and Jackie on these well-deserved honours.

RES President Carol Propper said: “I am delighted to see the public recognition of the contribution to UK society of Royal Economic Society Council members Amelia Fletcher, Imran Rasul and Jackie Wahba.”

Prof Amelia Fletcher

Council member (until 2021)

Amelia is Professor of Competition Policy at the Centre of Competition Policy, University of East Anglia. She is Non-Executive Director at the CMA, FCA and Payment Systems Regulator and a member of the Ofgem Enforcement Decision Panel. She has a DPhil and MPhil in economics from Nuffield College, Oxford and was awarded an OBE in 2014.

Prof Imran Rasul

Council representative (until 2023)

Imran is a professor of economics at UCL and a co-director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy (CPP) at the IFS.

Prof Jackie Wahba

Council member (until 2025)

Jackie is Professor of Economics at the University of Southampton. She has been a member of the UK Migration Advisory Committee since 2012. She leads the Migration Research at the ESRC Centre for Population Change. She is a research fellow of Centre for Research and Analysis of Migration (CReAM), Institute of Labour Studies (IZA) and Economic Research Forum (ERF). She has acted as an advisor to several international organisations, including the EC, the World Bank, IOM, ILO and OECD.