Women's Committee

Our Women’s Committee promotes the status of women in economics by identifying and removing barriers to progress. The committee monitors and reports on the status of women in economics and seeks to identify and to tackle the causes of their under-representation in the subject. It provides support for women in their careers as economists and ensures that the interests of women are represented in all of the Society’s activities.



Women’s Committee is divided into three sub-committees:

Mentoring and Support sub-committee is responsible for supporting women in their careers. The Mentoring and Support sub-committee supports women in economics through mentoring workshops, by supporting departments applying for Athena Swan awards and promoting links with similar groups in other academic disciplines. The committee is responsive to approaches from economists concerned about gender imbalance. The Mentoring and Support sub-committee leads are Prof Marina Della Giusta and Prof Cheti Nicoletti.

Monitoring the Status of Women in Economics sub-committee is responsible for monitoring and producing a bi-annual report on the status of women in economics in the UK. All the latest findings are published on our Status of women in Economics Report page. The Monitoring the Status of Women in Economics sub-committee leads are Dr Victoria Bateman and Dr Erin Hengel.

Communication and Engagement sub-committee is responsible for promoting the interests of women in economics. Its main activities are to organize the RES Annual Conference Women’s Committee Session, to work with women’s networks in other organisations such as the Bank of England and GES, and to promote the Women’s Committee activities with the wider community. The Communication and Engagement sub-committee leads are Prof Jo Swaffield and Dr Misa Tanaka.

Current Committee Chair

Prof Almudena Sevilla

University College London

Almudena Sevilla is a Professor of Economics and Public Policy at UCL. She holds a £2M ERC Consolidator grant to study the effect of parental time investments and children's human capital accumulation. Almudena obtained a PhD in Economics from Brown University (USA), and previously worked at QMUL, University of Oxford, Essex University, and the US Congressional Budget Office.

Expert Volunteers

Expert volunteers assist the work of the RES Women’s Committee and contribute to the Women’s Committee’s activities. Expressions of interest to become an expert volunteer are accepted on a rolling basis. If interested, send your CV and cover letter to resoffice@res.org.uk.

Danula Daksith Gamage Kanakanam Gamage

Queen Mary University of London

Danula is a PhD student at Queen Mary University of London. Danula is supporting the production of the Status of Women in Economics Report in the Monitoring the Status of Women in Economics subcommittee.

Ema Talam

Staffordshire University

Ema is a PhD student in Economics at Staffordshire University. Ema joined the RES Women’s Committee as Expert Volunteer in November 2020. Ema is supporting the work of the Chair of the RES Women’s Committee in activities related to communication and engagement.

Dr Valentina Tonei

University of Southampton

Valentina is Lecturer in Economics at University of Southampton. Valentina is supporting the work of the Mentoring and Support subcommittee.

Committee members until 2021

Dr Victoria Bateman

University of Cambridge

Dr Victoria Bateman is Lecturer in Economics and Fellow of Gonville & Caius College at the University of Cambridge. She is an economic historian, the author of two books, and regularly commentates on present day economic issues for the press and for radio. Victoria organises an annual Women In Economics Day for 16-18 year olds, taking place at the University of Cambridge every September.

Rain Newton Smith

Confederation of British Industry

Rain Newton-Smith is the Chief Economist at the Confederation of British Industry and previously the head of Emerging Markets at Oxford Economics. Prior to that, Rain worked on the international forecast for the Monetary Policy Committee at the Bank of England. She was honoured by the World Economic Forum in 2012 as a Young Global Leader.

Committee members until 2022 

Prof Jo Swaffield

Chair of CHUDE

Jo is Professor of Economics and Head of the Department of Economics & Related Studies, University of York. Jo is a labour economist interested in low wages, working hours and in-work poverty. Her research has been funded by the ESRC, the Joseph Rowntree Foundation and the Low Pay Commission. Jo is a member of the Home Office’s Migration Advisory Committee.

Misa Tanaka

Bank of England

Misa Tanaka is the Head of Research at the Bank of England. She has joined the Bank in 2002 after completing a D.Phil in Economics at Nuffield College, University of Oxford. She has held a number of positions across Monetary Analysis, Financial Stability, and Prudential Policy Areas of the Bank.

Prof Dame Carol Propper

Past President

Carol is Professor of Economics and Associate Dean of Faculty & Research at Imperial College Business School, London. In 2010 she was awarded a CBE for her services to social science, in 2014 she was elected as a fellow of the British Academy and in 2018 she was appointed as an International Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine. In recognition of her work she has twice been awarded the Arrow Award and received the American Economic Association 2016 prize.

Committee members until 2023 

Prof Cheti Nicoletti

Council member (until 2025)

Cheti Nicoletti (BSc Padova, MA Louvain-la-Neuve, PhD Florence) is Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics at the University of York. She is also the Leader of the Applied Micro-Econometrics Cluster within the Department, (AME).

Dr Erin Hengel

University of Liverpool

Erin's research interests are law and economics, corporate finance and applied micro theory; she has also investigated gender discrimination in peer review. Erin is from Pine Bluff, Arkansas (U.S.), has an undergraduate degree from Hendrix College in Conway and received her Ph.D. from the University of Cambridge.

Prof Marina Della Giusta

Mentoring and Support Working Group Lead and COVID-19 Response Lead | Committee Member until 2023

Marina is an Associate Professor in Economics at the University of Reading. Her publications are in the area of behavioural and labour economics, with particular focus on gender, stigma and social norms. Marina is actively promoting initiatives surrounding both the communication and teaching of economics and the advancement of women in the profession.