Education & Training Committee

The purpose of the Education and Training Committee is to:

- co-ordinate and oversee the Society's activities relating to economics education and training. Responsbility for the Societys' scholarly publications, including its academic journals, lies with the Publications Committee.

- advise the Trustee Board on matters relating to the education and training of students studying economics at university and also on continued professional development for those working in economics. 

- Liaise as appropriate with other RES committees (including the Communications & Engagement committee in relation to schools) and external bodies with an active interest in economics education and training. 


Prof Denise Hawkes

Chair Education & Training Committee | University of Greenwich

Denise is Professor of Education Economics and Head of Department of International Business and Economics within the Business School, University of Greenwich. Denise is also a visiting professor at UCL Institute of Education. Denise is an applied education economist and truly multi-disciplinary, applying econometric techniques to topics from education economics, education transitions and education practice.

Denise’s research has been funded by ESRC, DfID and British Council as well as drawn the interest of many outside of academic economics, including: Behavioural Insights Team in UK, Higher Education Commission in Pakistan and the Ministry of Education in Georgia.

Read lessmore

Prof Emilia del Bono

Council member (until 2024)

Professor of Economics and Director of Research, University of Essex. Her research agenda is focused on the nature, causes, and consequences of disparities in children’s human capital that lead to inequalities later on in life.

Prof Denise Osborn

Secretary-General 2015-2022

Now Emeritus, Denise was employed at the University of Manchester for 38 years, 23 as professor, publishing more than 80 papers and one book, many with international collaborators. External roles include Sub-Panel Chair UK RAE2008, Deputy Panel Convenor Hong Kong RAE2014 and service for the Royal Economic Society, Economic and Social Research Council and Leverhulme Trust, among others.

Parama Chaudhury

Professorial Teaching Fellow | University College London

Parama is Professorial Teaching Fellow at UCL and the Director of UCL's Centre for Teaching and Learning Economics. She is also Academic Director of Economics for Foreign Policy, UCL's bespoke training course for HM Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Prof Dame Rachel Griffith

President 2019-2020

Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS). She was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours 2015 for services to economic policy. She is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, the Academy of Social Sciences and a Research Fellow of CEPR.

Dr Ralf Becker

Dr Ralf Becker is Senior Lecturer in Economics at the University of Manchester.

Dr Steven Proud

University of Bristol

Steven Proud's research considers the economics of education. His main areas of interest include the effect of a child's peer group on their academic outcomes and the stability of school quality measures in school league tables

Professor Kevin Lee

Professor of Economics | University of Nottingham

Professor Alessandra Guariglia

Professor of Financial Economics

Marie-Luiza De Menezes

Member Operations Director |

Marie-Luiza manages all operations within the Society, covering finance, human resources, events, grants and Council elections. She is also data protection lead on GDPR. Marie-Luiza has an extensive background as a senior manager within the charity sector specialising in new projects around organisational change and workforce development.

Julia Randall-Edwards

Head of Communications & Engagement |

Julia is responsible for the communications and engagement strategic approach at the Royal Economic Society having spent a number of years working as a consultant in senior roles in the charity and government sector.