Trustee Board

The RES Trustee Board is legally responsible for the overall governance, management and policies of the Society, ensuring that the charitable objects for which it has been set up are met. The Trustee Board is constituted of four Honorary Officers (the President, President-elect, Honorary Treasurer and the Chair of Trustees); three Council members; up to five co-opted members.

Trustees should be members of the Society and meet other criteria to act as a charity trustee as set out by the Charity Commission.

Prof Sir David Greenaway

Chair of Trustees

Sir David Greenaway is Emeritus Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Economics at the University of Nottingham. He has served on the Council and Executive of the Royal Economic Society and is a former Chair of CHUDE and Associate Editor of the Economic Journal. He has served on the Council of ESRC and Chaired two RAE Panels. His current commitments include being a Member of the Council of the University of Cambridge, a Member of Council of the NIESR, and Joint Managing Editor of The World Economy.

Prof Nicholas Crafts


Nick is Professor of Economic History at the University of Sussex and Emeritus Professor of Economic History at the University of Warwick. He was awarded a CBE for services to economics in 2014. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, the Cliometrics Society and the Economic History Association and is a past President of the Economic History Society.

Prof Mary S Morgan

President Elect

Mary is the Albert O. Hirschman Professor of History and Philosophy of Economics at the London School of Economics; she is a Fellow of the British Academy (and served as Vice President 2014-8), and an Overseas Fellow of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Andrew Farrell

Honorary Treasurer

Andrew is now retired, following 13 years as CFO & Finance Director at the LSE and 20+ years with Xerox Corporation’s European Headquarters. Since retirement, he has had assignments as Director of Finance and Corporate Resources at The British Academy and as a Non-Executive Director at a London NHS Trust. He is a Trustee of the Epilepsy Society, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and a Fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Tom Aldred

Tom is Deputy Director of the Government Economic and Social Research team at HM Treasury. Tom joined the Government Economic Service in 2003 and previous roles include leading the Treasury’s review of the Green Book and a spell at UKGI, the UK Government’s centre of excellence on corporate governance. Tom is also a School Governor.

Tera Allas

Council representative (until 2024)

Tera leads economic research McKinsey & Company and is a Trustee of the Productivity Leadership Group and the National Institute of Economic and Social Research. Previously, she worked as Deputy Head of the Government Economic Service and as a management consultant at McKinsey. Tera holds a M.Sc. in Technology and Industrial Economics (with distinction) from Aalto University and an M.B.A. (with distinction) from INSEAD.

Conrad Copeland

Conrad currently works at the Office for Budget Responsibility, leading on economic forecasts for the devolved nations of the UK. Previously he has worked as a researcher and instructor at the University of Toronto, University of Oxford, University of Bristol, and UCL. Conrad received his Economics PhD in 2021 from the University of Bristol and his research interests include international economics, trade, and economic history.

Prof Miguel Costa-Gomes

Elections Officer & Council representative (until 2025)

Miguel’s main research interests revolve around the observation and modelling of the behaviour of individuals in a variety of economic contexts under controlled conditions in the computer laboratory.

Assoc Prof Stefania Paredes Fuentes

Diversity Champion

Stefania Paredes Fuentes is Associate Professor in Economics at the University of Warwick. Stefania is interested in Economics Education and works on on increasing diversity in Economics. She has been involved in various outreach and widening participation initiatives. Stefania is also Senior Associate and member of the Executive Board of the Economics Network and Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Prof Imran Rasul

Council representative (until 2023)

Imran is a professor of economics at UCL and a co-director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy (CPP) at the IFS.