Publications Committee

This committee advises the Executive Committee on the success of the Society’s existing publications and on the development of possible new publishing activities.  It monitors the performance of the journal publisher and ensures effective liaison between the Society and its publisher.

It monitors the external environment to ensure that potential changes are acted on as soon as possible and provides advice on editorial appointments. 


Prof Imran Rasul

Council representative (until 2023)

Imran is a professor of economics at UCL and a co-director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy (CPP) at the IFS.

Prof Jaap Abbring

Managing Editor of The Econometrics Journal |

Jaap is a professor of econometrics at Tilburg University in the Netherlands and the managing editor of The Econometrics Journal.

Prof Rachel Griffith


Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS).

Prof Estelle Cantillon

Managing Editor of the Economic Journal

Estelle Cantillon is a Professor of Economics at the Université Libre de Bruxelles, an associate member at the Toulouse School of Economics and a research fellow at CEPR. Her research lies at the boundary between market design and industrial organization, with applications to procurement, energy and environmental markets, exchanges and school choice. She has been a Managing Editor of The Economic Journal since October 2016.

Prof Sascha O.Becker

Council member (until 2023)

Sascha is a professor of economics at the University of Warwick and the deputy director of the Centre for Competitive Advantage in the Global Economy (CAGE).

Prof Alessandra Guariglia

Council member (until 2023)

Alessandra received her PhD from Boston University. She is currently a Professor of Financial Economics at the University of Birmingham. She is an associate editor of the European Journal of Finance. Her research interests are in the areas of applied financial economics, health economics, and the economics of transition in China.

Prof Mary S Morgan

Council member (until 2022)

Mary is a professor of history and philosophy of economics at LSE and was the Vice President of publications at the British Academy between 2014 and 2018.

Prof Chris Wallace

Council member (until 2022)

Chris is the head of the economics department at the University of Manchester and was the associate editor of the Economic Journal between 2009 and 2015.