Nominations Committee

The committee is responsible for a) reviewing the list of nominations for President and making a recommendation to Council and b) reviewing nominations for Council elections and making recommendations on those candidates who should move forward to a ballot of the membership.  


Prof Carol Propper


Carol is Professor of Economics and Associate Dean of Faculty & Research at Imperial College Business School, London. In 2010 she was awarded a CBE for her services to social science, in 2014 she was elected as a fellow of the British Academy and in 2018 she was appointed as an International Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine. In recognition of her work she has twice been awarded the Arrow Award and received the American Economic Association 2016 prize.

Prof Rachel Griffith

Past President

Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS).

Prof Lord Nicholas Stern

Lord Stern is a professor at the LSE. He was previously the Chief Economist of EBRD between 1994-1999 and of the World Bank from 2000-2003. He was President of the British Academy from 2013-2017, knighted for his services to economics in 2004, elected an FRS in 2013 and made a Companion of Honour in 2017.

Prof Denise Osborn


Now Emeritus, Denise was employed at the University of Manchester for 38 years, 23 as professor, publishing more than 80 papers and one book, many with international collaborators. External roles include Sub-Panel Chair UK RAE2008, Deputy Panel Convenor Hong Kong RAE2014 and service for the Royal Economic Society, Economic and Social Research Council and Leverhulme Trust, among others.

Prof Jagjit Chadha

Council member (until 2024)

Jagjit Chadha is Director of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR). He was Professor of Economics at the University of Kent, Cambridge and St Andrews. He has worked at the Bank of England on Monetary Policy and as Chief Quantitative Economist at BNP Paribas and served as Chair of the Money, Macro, Finance Study Group. He has acted as Specialist Adviser to the House of Commons Treasury Committee and adviser to the Bank of England, HM Treasury and to many central banks.

Prof Chris Wallace

Council member (until 2022)

Chris is Head of the Economics department at the University of Manchester and was the associate editor of the Economic Journal between 2009 and 2015.

Hasan Bakhshi

Council member (until 2022)

Hasan is Executive Director for Creative Economy and Data Analytics at Nesta and Adjunct Professor of Creative Industries at the Queensland University of Technology.

Prof Friederike Mengel

Council member (until 2022)

Friederike is Professor of Economics at the University of Essex and visiting guest professor at Lund University.

Prof Amelia Fletcher

Council member (until 2021)

Amelia is Professor of Competition Policy at the Centre of Competition Policy, University of East Anglia. She is Non-Executive Director at the CMA, FCA and Payment Systems Regulator and a member of the Ofgem Enforcement Decision Panel. She has a DPhil and MPhil in economics from Nuffield College, Oxford and was awarded an OBE in 2014.

Prof Martin Weale

Council member (until 2020)

Martin Weale is Professor of Economics at King’s College London and a member of the Office for National Statistics Economic Experts Working Group. Before joining King’s in 2016 he was a member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee and, until 2010, Director of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research.

Sir John Vickers

John is a professor of economics at the University of Oxford and the Warden of All Souls College.