Communications and Engagement Committee

The committee advises and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee on the success of the Society’s communications and engagement activities.  It oversees all issues concerning communications and engagement including the Society’s website and social media channels.

Prof Carol Propper


Carol is Professor of Economics and Associate Dean of Faculty & Research at Imperial College Business School, London. In 2010 she was awarded a CBE for her services to social science, in 2014 she was elected as a fellow of the British Academy and in 2018 she was appointed as an International Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine. In recognition of her work she has twice been awarded the Arrow Award and received the American Economic Association 2016 prize.

Prof Denise Osborn


Now Emeritus, Denise was employed at the University of Manchester for 38 years, 23 as professor, publishing more than 80 papers and one book, many with international collaborators. External roles include Sub-Panel Chair UK RAE2008, Deputy Panel Convenor Hong Kong RAE2014 and service for the Royal Economic Society, Economic and Social Research Council and Leverhulme Trust, among others.

Prof Marina Della Giusta

Marina is an Associate Professor in Economics at the University of Reading. Her publications are in the area of behavioural and labour economics, with particular focus on gender, stigma and social norms. Marina is actively promoting initiatives surrounding both the communication and teaching of economics and the advancement of women in the profession.

Martin Sandbu

Council member (until 2022)

Martin Sandbu is the Financial Times's European Economics Commentator. He has been writing for the FT since 2009, when he joined the paper as Economics Leader Writer. Before joining the FT, he worked in academia and policy consulting. He has taught and carried out research at Harvard, Columbia and the Wharton School, and has advised governments and NGOs on natural resources and economic development. He is

Rain Newton-Smith

Council member (until 2023)

Rain Newton-Smith is the chief economist at the Confederation of British Industry and previously the head of emerging markets at Oxford Economics. Prior to that, Rain worked on the international forecast for the Monetary Policy Committee at the Bank of England. She was honoured by the World Economic Forum in 2012 as a young global leader.

Prof Tim Worrall

Council member (until 2021)

Tim is Professor of Economics at the University of Edinburgh. He has held previous appointments at Manchester, Keele, Liverpool, Reading and Cambridge. Tim was Secretary to the Conference of Heads of University Departments of Economics (CHUDE), a sub-committee of the Royal Economic Society, 2007-2012.