Our structure

The Society’s key decision-making bodies are the Executive Committee and the Council, both of which are chaired by the President.  Our governing documents are the original and supplemental Royal Charter and bye-laws.  The current bye-laws were approved by the Privy Council in December 2011.  

Our annual report and accounts provide a summary of our financial position and key activities.

The Society operates a tripartite presidential system with three Presidents serving at any one time for a three-year term, as President-elect, President and Immediate Past President.

Executive Committee and Council are supported by a series of committees, to whom certain work is delegated.


Prof Rachel Griffith


Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS). She was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours 2015 for services to economic policy. She is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, the Academy of Social Sciences and a Research Fellow of CEPR.

Prof Lord Nicholas Stern

Past President

Lord Stern is a professor at the LSE. He was previously the Chief Economist of EBRD between 1994-1999 and of the World Bank from 2000-2003. He was President of the British Academy from 2013-2017, knighted for his services to economics in 2004, elected an FRS in 2013 and made a Companion of Honour in 2017.

Prof Carol Propper


Carol is Professor of Economics and Associate Dean of Faculty & Research at Imperial College Business School, London. In 2010 she was awarded a CBE for her services to social science, in 2014 she was elected as a fellow of the British Academy and in 2018 she was appointed as an International Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine. In recognition of her work she has twice been awarded the Arrow Award and received the American Economic Association 2016 prize.

Our people

Learn more about our officers and staff.

Our strategy

Learn more about our strategy and future plans.

About us

Our purpose is to promote the study of economic science. Find out more about us here.