Journal Prizes

There are four types of prize awarded each year in connection with The Economic Journal and The Econometrics Journal:

RES Prize

Awarded to the best paper published in the Economic Journal in a given year as selected by the RES President, a representative of the Economic Journal Editorial Board and one invited judge from the RES Council.

Austin Robinson Prize

Awarded to the best paper published in the Economic Journal in a given year by an author (or multiple authors) who is within 5 years of receiving his or her (or their) PhD as selected by the Editors of the Economic Journal.

Economic Journal Referee Prizes

Up to 10 prizes awarded each year for referees judged by the Editors to have made an outstanding contribution in this capacity.

The Dennis Sargan Prize

Awarded for the best (unsolicited) article published in The Econometrics Journal in a given year by anyone who is within five years of being awarded their doctorate.

The Young Economist Essay competition
Up to £3000 of prize money is awarded annually to the winners of this essay competition on topical issues in economics. Entry is limited to those studying A levels or the International Baccalaureate educational programmes.

The RES is sometimes made aware of prizes and competitions offered by other organisations which may be of interest to our members. Contact the RES Administrator if you wish to publicise a prize to our members.  See below for details of current prizes being offered:


The 13th edition of the Bernácer Prize is launched. The Observatory of the BCE (OBCE) invites you to nominate candidates for the prize.

The Bernácer prize is awarded annually to recognise the work of young European economists and to encourage research on macroeconomic and financial issues. Nominations for the Bernácer Prize must be received by February 15, 2014.

Previous Prizewinners

• Nicholas Bloom 2012
• Lasse H. Pedersen 2011
• Xavier Gabaix 2010
• Emmanuel Farhi 2009
• Markus Brunnermeier 2008
• Pierre-Olivier Gourinchas 2007
• Hélène Rey 2006
• Monika Piazzesi 2005
• Stephanie Schmitt-Grohe 2004
• Luigi Zingales 2003
• José Manuel Campa 2002
• Philip Lane 2001

Nominations must be sent by e- mail, under the title The 2013 BERNACER Prize to:

Page Options