Governance and Structure

Executive Committee and Council

The governing body of the Society is the Executive Committee, which consists of the following trustees:
Immediate Past President
Editors (up to three)
Secretaries (Secretary General & Second Secretary)
and at least five Councillors who are not Officers.

Other members may be co-opted by the Council, and currently the Conference Committee Secretary, the Chairman of CHUDE (Conference of Heads of University Departments of Economics) and the Chairperson of the Women's Committee have been so co-opted.
The Executive Committee  meets at least three times a year and is responsible for the formulation and execution of the Society's policy, and for the coordination of the activities of all of its Officers.
Current list of Executive Committee officers and trustees.

The Council of the Society has a supervisory and advisory role. It meets at least once a year and consists of: President, President-Elect and Immediate Past President (co-opted), Treasurer, Secretaries and thirty elected Councillors (of whom at least five are appointed to the Executive Committee).
The Council makes policy subject to the AGM and its members may assist the Executive with the development and business of the Society through working groups, currently on Strategy; Journals; Academic Affairs; Press & Media; Education, Training & Schools and Links with other Professional Bodies.

Current list of Council members.

List of Council members since 1974

President:  A President-elect is chosen by the Council, after a nominations process in which members are invited to make recommendations. Once ratified the President-elect serves for one year before becoming President. In 2016 the Executive Committee recommended to Council who agreed to alter the terms of the Presidents. This was brought to the members at the Annual General Meeting 2016. Three Presidents now serve at any one time for a three year term, firstly as President-elect, then as President and finally as Immediate Past President.   The President chairs both the Executive Committee and the Council.  Other responsibilities are shared.
In 2016 John Moore became Past President, Andrew Chesher President and Peter Neary President-elect.

Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting usually takes place during the RES Annual Conference. All members of the Society are invited to attend and notice of business is mailed to them in advance of the meeting. An annual report is presented by the Secretary-General and the audited Annual Accounts are provided. The formal election of the new members of Council and, where appropriate, the President takes place.

Agenda, Papers and Minutes of Annual General Meetings will be found below.

The ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the Society was held at University of Sussex, Brighton, M13 9PL on Tuesday 22nd March 2016. Agenda papers for the 2016 AGM were sent to all RES members by email. If you have not received them please contact the RES office on

Papers from Annual General Meetings (includes approved minutes of previous year)

Annual Report of the Secretary General

Annual Accounts & Trustee Report

RES Office

The Royal Economic Society is a registered charity No. 231508 & a charity registered in Scotland: No. SCO43245. VAT Registration: 214168584.
The Office of the Royal Economic Society is based at the University of St Andrews. The Secretary General is Professor Denise Osborn. The full address can be found in the Contact Us section.

If you have any queries about the Society, please feel free to contact the Society Executive Office Manager, Mrs Amanda Wilman on

Page Options