RES Council

Current membership of RES Council

  • President (to AGM 2018):  Professor Peter Neary
  • Past President (to AGM 2018): Professor Andrew Chesher
  • President elect (to AGM 2018): Professor Lord Nick Stern (co-opted)
  • Vice-Presidents (Life): Sir Tony Atkinson, Lord Burns, Sir Partha Dasgupta,  Jeremy M Hardie, Sir David Hendry, Sir James Mirrlees, Sir Stephen Nickell, Professor Richard Portes, Penelope Rowlatt, Professor Amartya K Sen,  John Sutton, Sir John Vickers, Sir Richard Blundell, Professor John Beath, Sir Charles Bean, Mark Robson.
  • To hold office until AGM 2017: Martin Browning, Tim Harford, Paul Johnson (EC), Kim Scharf, Peter Sinclair, Sarah Smith (EC)
  • To hold office until AGM 2018: Oriana Bandiera, V Bhaskar, Sarah Brown, Vincent Crawford, Andy Haldane, Jonathan Portes
  • To hold office until AGM 2019: James Banks, Diane Coyle, Amrita Dhillon, Stephen Machin (EC), John Van Reenen, Silvana Tenreyro (RESWC)
  • To hold office until AGM 2020: Michele Belot, Wendy Carlin, Kevin O’Rourke, Robert Peston, Martin Weale, Frank Windmeijer(EC)
  • To hold office until AGM 2021: Christian Dustmann, Amelia Fletcher, Rafaella Giacomini, Beata Javorcik (EC), Paola Manzini, Tim Worrall
  • Honorary Treasurer: Susan Holloway

RES Council Members since 1974 (pdf)

RES Council Elections

The Royal Economic Society holds elections each year for members to serve on the Council. SIX members are elected annually and serve for a period of five years. Members of the Society are reminded on an annual basis of their right as members to propose names to be considered for election to the RES Council. The formal procedure is that the Nominating Committee considers all such names and puts forward to Council a list for approval. This is then the subject of a ballot of all members of the Society. The successful candidates join Council after formal adoption at the following AGM. All members of the Society are eligible to vote. 

Nomination Process
Nominations for the next cohort of the RES Council (to serve 2017-2022) have been received and reviewed by the Council Nominations Committee. New members of Council will now be elected through an online ballot of all RES members to take place in the early part of 2017 in order to maximise the opportunity for all our members to choose the elected members of Council.
The election results will be ratified at the AGM in 2017 after which the new members will take their places on the RES Council.


The online ballot to elect Council members for the term 2017-2022 is now closed.

Nominations for RES Council and President for following year:

All Members of the Society are invited to offer nominations for Council members to be ballotted for election each year for consideration by the Council Nominations Committee.

Names supported by three members (including their membership numbers) should be sent to the RES office, by April 2017, clearly marked as Nomination for Council.

All Members are  invited to offer nominations for the next President (for a three year term from April  as President-elect, President and Past President) to be considered by the Nominations Committee in September each year. Their decision is reported to the RES Council and the President-elect is then be ratified at the following year's AGM.

Nominations for President, supported by three members should be made with your membership numbers together with a brief C.V. and contact details for the nominee, by the end of August each year to the Secretary-General at the RES office,

1. The proposals are considered by the Council’s Nominating Committee which now meets twice yearly, once to nominate names for President and once to consider names for Council. Other names may be added to those already proposed by members. The Nominating Committee draws up a list of at least twice the number of vacancies.

2. The Nominating Committee consists of five members appointed by Council, plus the President ex-officio.

3. The Nominating Committee are asked to bear in mind the need to have on Council economists in different occupations and fields and based in different locations.

4. The recommendations of the Nominating Committee are passed to Council for consideration. The Council then approves the final list of names to go to a ballot of all members. This list is notified to the Executive Committee (trustees). The list of potential nominees are invited to take part in the election by providing a short biography.

5. A ballot of all members of the Society takes place with a short biography of each nominee and a voting form which are to be returned to the offices of the Society before the Annual General meeting each year. Elections are held online using an emailed survey. A postal ballot will no longer be sent out as in previous years, unless a member specifically requests so in advance from the RES office

6. The results of the elections are reported to Council for adoption before presentation to the Annual General Meeting. Council members elected in the Council Election will serve from the following AGM for a period of 5 years.

Election of President. The next President of the Royal Economic Society is chosen by the elected members of the RES Council, after a nominations process in which all members are invited to make recommendations.

All members are invited to recommend possible candidates for nomination as President-elect of the Society  to be considered by the Nominations Committee in the autumn.

If you require further information, please contact the RES Office.

Election Process. The Society started to use online balloting in 2012 which has increased the number of members able to take part in the voting process and we will therefore be using this process for future elections. From 2015 the Society has decided that this will be the primary method of balloting and we ask members where possible to ensure that they have a current email address registered to the RES site.   The postal address for the office can be found on the Contact Us page.  For information on how to register to the site or change your registered details go to the Website Registration page here.                                           

Page Options