Economic Journal Referee Prize

The Economic Journal depends greatly on the service of its many referees for the functioning of the peer review process. We used to thank our referees with a token payment for their services. Following feedback from many of our referees, and guided by findings in the research literature (e.g. Gneezy and Rustichini, QJE, August 2000) we have decided to discontinue these payments. We would like to thank all of our many referees who continue to provide their services without compensation.

While many referees help us tremendously with their comments, some of our referees contribute beyond the call of duty through their thoroughness and constructive feedback to the authors. This service in the profession rarely gets acknowledged. Since 2010, the Economic Journal has recognised the contribution of these exceptional referees with an annual referee prize of £500. The editors choose around 14 winners for the referee prize. We thank all of them for their outstanding support of the Journal, and the service they have provided to the authors.

2017 Winners

  • Alex Corhay, University of Toronto
  • Monica Costa Dias, Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Francesco Decarolis, Boston University
  • Alessandro Dovis, University of Pennsylvania
  • Ignacio Esponda, UC Santa Barbara
  • Titus Galama, University of Southern California
  • Nagore Iriberri, University of the Basque Country
  • Santiago Oliveros, University of Essex
  • Giovanni Peri, UC Davis
  • Katherine Schlafmann, Stockholm University
  • Hannes Schwandt, University of Zurich
  • Anna Vignoles, University of Cambridge

2016 Winners

  • Anna Aizer, Brown University
  • Massimiliano Amarante, Université de Montréal
  • Matthew Elliott, University of Cambridge
  • Raymond Fisman, Boston University
  • David Hemous, University of Zurich
  • John Bailey Jones, University at Albany, SUNY
  • Kevin Lang, Boston University
  • Lucas Maestri, FGV/EPGE
  • Luigi Pascali, University of Warwick
  • Hillel Rapoport, Paris School of Economics
  • Kate Smith, Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Vincent Sterk, University College London
  • Jan Stuhler, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Nora Traum, North Carolina State University

2015 Winners

  • Britta Augsburg, Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Tobias Broer, Stockholm University
  • Edouard Challe, École Polytechnique
  • Cormac O'Dea, University College London
  • Francois Gourio, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
  • Christopher Huckfeldt, Cornell University
  • Oksana Leukhina, University of Washington
  • David Miller, University of Michigan
  • Helen Miller, Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Francesco Nava, London School of Economics
  • Hessel Oosterbeek, Amsterdam School of Economics
  • Pedro Rey-Biel, Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • Juan Pablo Rud, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Erik Schokkaert, University of Leuven

2014 Winners

  • David Atkin, Yale University
  • Holger Breinlich, University of Essex
  • Jens Christensen, Federal Bank of San Francisco
  • Andrew Clark, Paris School of Economics
  • Daniele Condorelli, University of Essex
  • Francesco Devicienti, University of Torino
  • Gilles Duranton, University of Pennsylvania
  • Marcel Jansen, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Igor Livshits, University of Western Ontario
  • Debrah Meloso, ESC Rennes School of Business
  • David de Meza, London School of Economics
  • Chris Wallace, University of Leicester

2013 Winners

  • Costas Arkolakis, Yale University
  • Aaron Chalfin, University of Cincinnati
  • James Cloyne, Bank of England
  • Rosario Crino, Centro de Estudios Monetarios y Financieros (CEMFI)
  • Jayant Ganguli, University of Essex
  • Anthony Keats, Wesleyan University
  • Molly Lipscomb, University of Virginia
  • Rocco Macchiavello, Warwick University
  • Alan Morrison, University of Oxford
  • Tuomas Pekkarinen, Aalto University
  • Nicolas Petrosky-Nadeau, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Abdolkarim Sadrieh, University of Magdeburg

2012 Winners

  • Peter Davis, Compasslexecon
  • Matthias Doepke, Northwestern University
  • Renato Faccini, Queen Mary University
  • Gianluca Femminis, Universita Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
  • Delia Furtado, University of Connecticut
  • David Gill, University of Oxford
  • Christian Hilber, London School of Economics
  • Friederike Mengel, University of Essex
  • Martin O'Connell, Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Jan van Ours, Tilburg University
  • Danila Serra, Southern Methodist University
  • Fabian Waldinger, University of Warwick

2011 Winners

  • Francesco Fasani, Institute for Economic Analysis (IAE-CSIC)
  • Ethan Ilzetzki, London School of Economics
  • Julia Lane, National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • Gernot Müller , University of Bonn
  • Giacomo Ponzetto, CREi, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Justin Rao, Yahoo! Research
  • Burkhard Schipper, University of California, Davis
  • Andrew Shephard, Princeton University
  • Johannes van Biesebroeck, University of Toronto
  • David Vines, University of Oxford

2010 Winners

  • Vasco Carvalho, CREi, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Andrew Clark, Paris School of Economics
  • Emilia Del Bono, University of Essex
  • Peter Neary, University of Oxford
  • Karen Norberg, Washington University in St. Louis
  • James Reade, University of Birmingham
  • Bent Sorensen, University of Houston
  • Martin Weale, National Institute of Economic and Social Research
  • Lucy White, Harvard Business School

Useful Info

Sign up for Email Alerts

Get the latest information on recent issues and articles here.

Impact Factor

The Impact Factor is 2.946 and the journal is 42/353 in the Economics ISI subject category. 

Turn-around Statistics

Mean turn-around time 41 days for all new submissions (6 days for papers not sent to referees). View journal activity.

Contact the Journal

Antonia Glanfield
Publications Officer
(+44) 20 3549 5035

Page Options