RES Young Economist of the Year Essay Competition 2016 - winners announced

  • Published Date: 08 August 2016

From the final shortlist of 19 essays drawn from a total entry of nearly 1700, the judging panel of Professor Sir Charles Bean (London School of Economics and an RES Past President), Stephanie Flanders (Ex BBC Economics Editor, now with JP Morgan) and Professor Jonathan Haskel (Imperial College, London) have selected three winners and wish to congratulate them, together with all of the other students that made the short list.

The 2016 RES Young Economist of the Year is therefore Sherwood Lam of The King's School, Canterbury, who will receive the glass trophy and a prize of £1,000. Joint second place goes to George Keech of Bedford Modern School and Chung Yi See of Raffles Institution, Singapore, each of whom will receive £500. The awards will be made at a ceremony before the RES Public Lecture on 29th November.

Thank you to all students and schools who have taken part this year. Due to the large number of entries we regret that no feedback can be provided for individual essays. The highly commended list and final shortlist are listed on the Young Economist essay competition webpage.

Read the winning essays and the Judges Report here.

Source: RES Office, Amanda Wilman

Page Options